Events

Although it would be impossible to list everything happening south of I-70, an effort is made to try to list some https://facebook.com/events/s/august-market-days/751126792065663/?ti=ashighlights. If you have an even or know of one to submit, please email it to: asliceofsouthernillinois@gmail.com

Please note that the following annual events have been cancelled or postponed in 2020 due to COVID-19:

-Antique Power Days (Salem)

-Centralia Halloween Parade

-Golconda Shrimp Festival

-HerrinFesta Italiana

-Murphysboro Apple Festival (events postponed until 2021 but some food may be available through the website)

-Salem Little Egypt Festival

-The DuQuoin State Fair

-The Cobden Lions Club Peach Festival

-The Missouri Valley Conference (Saluki Football) may try a spring schedule

VIRTUAL EVENTS:

10/14/20-10/18/20 Virtual Glass Pumpkin Patch https://fb.me/e/5G6FWluEk

ALTON

Eagle Watching Shuttle Tours http://www.visitalton.com/pages/shuttle-tours/216

ALTO PASS

9/12/20-? Rendleman Orchards U-Pick Sunflower Field https://www.facebook.com/RendlemanOrchards/

BELLEVILLE

Annually in December Way of Lights Anniversary-A Family Tradition at National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows https://facebook.com/events/1020107164999845/?ti=as

BENTON

December Annual Spirit of Christmas Light Parade https://facebook.events/s/2nd-annual-spirit-of-christmas/2661568920601158/?ti=as

CARBONDALE

February Annual Taste of Blackness hosted by New Zion Missionary Baptist Church https://facebook.com/events/s/25th-annual-taste-of-blackness/985522888501123/?ti=as

March Annual Celebrate Women Event at Morris Library, SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/24th-annual-celebrate-women-ev/988639771521276/?ti=as

Saturdays, April through November: Carbondale Farmer’s Market https://www.farmersmarketcarbondale.com/1st Saturday each December

Carbondale Lights Fantastic Parade http://lightsfantasticparade.com/#activities

4/5/24 2024 Total Solar Eclipse at SIU Carbondale https://facebook.com/events/s/2024-total-solar-eclipse-at-si/734918499874299/?ti=aseclipse.siu.edu

CARTERVILLE

Sundays, May through October, Carterville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/CannonParkCommunityMarket/

Christmas in Carterville (1st Friday in December) https://www.facebook.com/Christmas-in-Carterville-317982874885302/

CENTRALIA

Annually in August: Centralia Balloon Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/centralia-balloon-fest-2020/739798669831734/?ti=as

https://facebook.com/events/s/drive-through-balloon-glows-at/696493427875553/?ti=as

CISNE

Annually in August, The Cisne Reunion https://www.facebook.com/CisneReunion/

COBDEN

Annual Cobden Event, Lions Peach Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/the-cobden-lions-club-peach-fe/466605840691183/?ti=as

EFFINGHAM

December Wonderland in Lights https://facebook.com/events/576438539770870/?ti=as

GOREVILLE

May-October Goreville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/events/294036421288296/?ti=as

GRAFTON

Riverside Flea Market http://www.graftonloadingdock.com/flea-market

HARRISBURG

9/19/20 A Weekend in Harrisburg https://facebook.com/events/s/a-weekend-in-harrisburg/282842389679720/?ti=as

HERRIN

Annually, Memorial Day Weekend, HerrinFesta Italiana 2020 CANCELLED DUE TO COVID-19

MAKANDA

December, Annual Christmas with the Alpacas at Rolling Oak Alpaca Ranch https://facebook.com/events/523824575043139/?ti=as

1st Annual Makanda Mushroom Festival https://www.facebook.com/MakandaMushroomFestival/

MARION

MCLEANSBORO

MT. VERNON

September, Annual Cedarhurst Art & Craft Fair https://facebook.com/events/s/cedarhurst-art-craft-fair/731107887703042/?ti=as

Christmas in the Park at Veteran’s Memorial Park https://facebook.com/events/385127925734572/?ti=as

MURPHYSBORO

Annual September Event, Murphysboro Apple Festival https://murphysboroapplefestival.org/shop/

–event postponed until 2021, but food may be available on the website.

9/18/20-9/19/20 mUrphysboRo Strong Eat & Shop https://facebook.com/events/s/murphysboro-strong-eat-shop/308516443784126/?ti=as

SALEM

Little Egypt Festival (1st Saturday in October) https://www.facebook.com/Little-Egypt-Festival-259946837352356/ 2020 CANCELLED DUE TO COVID-19

TAMMS

December, Annual Light Up Tamms Parade https://facebook.com/events/2471088646284054/?ti=as

ULLIN

White Crane Canoe Rental & Guide Service Monthly Full Moon Tour https://www.whitecranecanoes.com/book-online

VANDALIA

December, Christmas Open House and Candlelight Tours at the Vandalia Statehouse State Historic Site https://facebook.com/events/927257600978069/?ti=as

WALTONVILLE

WEST FRANKFORT

December, Candy Cane Lane https://www.facebook.com/candycanelanewestfrankfort/