Events

Although it would be impossible to list everything happening south of I-70, an effort is made to try to list some highlights. If you have an even or know of one to submit, please email it to: asliceofsouthernillinois@gmail.com

We cannot guarantee that all submissions will be published.

CLOSINGS AND CANCELLATIONS

Per WSIL-TV https://www.facebook.com/157726639879/posts/10158635301079880/?sfnsn=mo

ALTON

Eagle Watching Shuttle Tours http://www.visitalton.com/pages/shuttle-tours/216

ANNA

3/14/20 Cookie Decorating Class at Kiki’s Coffeehouse https://facebook.com/events/s/cookie-decorating-class/2705586049464623/?ti=as

3/14/20 St. Patty’s Day Festival hosted by King Neptune’s Cajun House https://facebook.com/events/s/st-pattys-day-festival/534168273854815/?ti=as

BELLEVILLE

Annually in December Way of Lights Anniversary-A Family Tradition at National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows https://facebook.com/events/1020107164999845/?ti=as

BENTON

December Annual Spirit of Christmas Light Parade https://facebook.events/s/2nd-annual-spirit-of-christmas/2661568920601158/?ti=as

CARBONDALE

2/29/20 25th Annual Taste of Blackness hosted by New Zion Missionary Baptist Church https://facebook.com/events/s/25th-annual-taste-of-blackness/985522888501123/?ti=as

3/4/20 History of Henna at the Craft Shop SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/history-of-henna/112315990200130/?ti=as

3/5/20 24th Annual Celebrate Women Event at Morris Library, SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/24th-annual-celebrate-women-ev/988639771521276/?ti=as

3/15/20 Mission Meal Cook for Homeless hosted by Saluki Rotaract https://facebook.com/events/s/mission-meal-cook-for-homeless/2758454360880695/?ti=as

3/19/20 Shibori: Indigo Dyeing Techniques at Craft Shop SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/shibori-indigo-dyeing-techniqu/574243259821554/?ti=as

4/19/20 Public Astronomy Observation at SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/public-astronomy-observation/583774178836096/?ti=as

5/16/20 Spring Craft & Vendor Fair hosted by The Landings at Reed Station Crossing https://facebook.com/events/s/craft-vendor-fair/611321396287634/?ti=as

4/5/24 2024 Total Solar Eclipse at SIU Carbondale https://facebook.com/events/s/2024-total-solar-eclipse-at-si/734918499874299/?ti=aseclipse.siu.edu

Saturdays, April through November: Carbondale Farmer’s Market https://www.farmersmarketcarbondale.com/

1st Saturday each December Carbondale Lights Fantastic Parade http://lightsfantasticparade.com/#activities

CARLYLE

5/16/20 Kids to Parks Day https://facebook.com/events/s/kids-to-parks-day/613960419410783/?ti=as

6/27/20 Fireworks Spectacular at Carlyle Lake https://facebook.com/events/s/fireworks-spectacular-at-carly/2587894251438529/?ti=as

8/14/20 Cruisin’the Dam Car Show https://facebook.com/events/s/cruisin-the-dam-car-show/434437174109860/?ti=as

CARTERVILLE

2/28/19 Live Stand Up Comedy at Walker’s Bluff with Matt Holt & Amber Klear hosted by Southern Illinois Comedy https://facebook.com/events/s/live-stand-up-comedy-at-walker/915126558881315/?ti=as

3/8/20 A Cup of DUMPlins to Cheer Them Up Fundraiser at Rise Above It Bakery &Cafe https://m.facebook.com/groups/111330582371024?view=permalink&id=1330416767129060

3/21/20 Southern Illinois Wellness Expo https://www.facebook.com/427828507292679/posts/3480297705379062/?sfnsn=mo

3/27/20 Rooted Together hosted by worth the Risk https://facebook.com/events/s/rooted-together/2474738332790591/?ti=as

3/28/20 Wine & Beer Crawl almost 5K) hosted by Autism Society of Southern Illinois https://facebook.com/events/s/wine-and-beer-crawl/2225644261063910/?ti=as

4/9/20 Tri-C Elementary McTeacher’s Night-Carterville https://facebook.com/events/s/tri-c-elementary-mcteachers-ni/601312410437508/?ti=as

Sundays, May through October, Carterville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/CannonParkCommunityMarket/

Christmas in Carterville (1st Friday in December) https://www.facebook.com/Christmas-in-Carterville-317982874885302/

CENTRALIA

8/21/20-8/23/20 Centralia Balloon Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/centralia-balloon-fest-2020/739798669831734/?ti=as

COBDEN

3/29/20 Alpacas & Wine at Starview Vineyards https://facebook.com/events/s/alpacas-and-wine/209771343473216/?ti=as

8/14/20-8/15/20 Cobden Lions Peach Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/the-cobden-lions-club-peach-fe/466605840691183/?ti=as

CREAL SPRINGS

5/16/20 Springthyme in the country Festival at Country Lane Treasures https://facebook.com/events/s/springthyme-in-the-country-fes/525288008116410/?ti=as

CYPRESS

3/12/20 Nature Movie: Manatees hosted by Friends of the Cache River Watershed https://facebook.com/events/s/nature-movie-manatees/2706230192771387/?ti=as

3/14/20 Butterflies and the Plants They Need https://facebook.com/events/s/butterflies-and-the-plants-the/440216349992967/?ti=as

6/13/20 Introduction to Orienteering hosted by Friends of the Cache River Watershed https://facebook.com/events/s/introduction-to-orienteering/474361486817809/?ti=as

DUQUOIN

6/26/20-6/28/20 General Tire Street Machine Nationals https://facebook.com/events/s/general-tire-street-machine-na/584196395745708/?ti=as

EFFINGHAM

December Wonderland in Lights https://facebook.com/events/576438539770870/?ti=as

FAIRVIEW HEIGHTS

3/21/20 2020 HIJHSAA State Finals at St. Clair Bowl https://facebook.com/events/s/2020-sijhsaa-state-finals/1315138005314046/?ti=as

GOREVILLE

May-October Goreville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/events/294036421288296/?ti=as

GRAFTON

Riverside Flea Market http://www.graftonloadingdock.com/flea-market

HERRIN

2/25/20 OLMC’S 60th Annual Mardis Gras https://facebook.com/events/s/olmc-60th-annual-mardi-gras/1771002473036346/?ti=as

2/27/20 HHS Drama Club presents “No Signs of Intelligent Life” at Herrin Civic Center https://facebook.com/events/s/hhs-drama-club-presents-no-sig/866655197130477/?ti=as

3/21/20 Springout Duo Dash: Unicorn Mardi Gras https://facebook.com/events/s/springout-duo-dash-unicorn-mar/999758777062101/?ti=as

INA

2/28/20 Caribbean Cuisine hosted by Rend Lake Community College & Corporate Education https://facebook.com/events/s/caribbean-cuisine/500679673876256/?ti=as

3/6/20 Wildlife Cooking hosted by Rend Lake Community College & Corporate Education https://facebook.com/events/s/wildlife-cooking/2526371457642430/?ti=as

3/13/20 Hunter Safety hosted by Rend Lake Community College & Corporate Education https://facebook.com/events/s/hunter-safety/731648690679034/?ti=as

4/2/20 Ripped Hosted by Rend Lake Community College & Corporate Education https://facebook.com/events/s/ripped/448432732471553/?ti=as

MAKANDA

December, Annual Christmas with the Alpacas at Rolling Oak Alpaca Ranch https://facebook.com/events/523824575043139/?ti=as

4/18/20-4/19/20 1st Annual Makanda Mushroom Festival https://www.facebook.com/MakandaMushroomFestival/

MARION

2/28/20-3/1/20 Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat presented by Skyline Creek Productions https://www.facebook.com/113525542850/posts/10157518048522851/

3/20/20-3/22/20

Magpie Market Days-Spring 2020 Vintage Market https://facebook.com/events/s/magpie-market-days-spring-2020/2388007051324832/?ti=as

3/30/20 Trivia Night at Don Sol Mexican Grill-Marion, hosted by Finding Forever Animal Rescue & Thrift Store https://facebook.com/events/s/trivia-night/1103788079955156/?ti=as

4/2/20 Cars & Coffee hosted by Cornerstone Garage https://facebook.com/events/s/cars-coffee/820967108411256/?ti=as

4/4/20-4/5/20 SIESC Gem, Mineral, Fossil, and Jewelry Show at The Pavilion https://facebook.com/events/s/siesc-gem-mineral-fossil-and-j/1223595267830327/?ti=as

4/18/20 An Evening with We Are Messengers https://facebook.com/events/s/an-evening-with-we-are-messeng/2516318605270310/?ti=as

MT. VERNON

3/28/20-3/29/20 Exotic Pet Expo https://facebook.com/events/s/mt-vernon-illinois-exotic-pet-/572469980003045/?ti=as

6/14/20 Paw Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/pawfest/1498074846997777/?ti=as

8/8/20 August Market Days https://facebook.com/events/s/august-market-days/751126792065663/?ti=as

9/25/20-9/26/20 Fall Fest 2020 https://facebook.com/events/s/fall-fest-2020/2555968584528504/?ti=as

9/26/20 Crossroads Community Hospital Parade https://facebook.com/events/s/crossroads-community-hospital-/589373305190788/?ti=as

December, Christmas in the Park at Veteran’s Memorial Park https://facebook.com/events/385127925734572/?ti=as

MURPHYSBORO

NEW BURNSIDE

5/16/20 Springthyme in the country Festival at Country Lane Treasures https://facebook.com/events/s/springthyme-in-the-country-fes/525288008116410/?ti=as

OZARK

2/29/20-3/1/20 Maple Sugarin’ Weekend at Camp Ondessonk https://facebook.com/events/s/maple-sugarin-weekend/714710885702496/?ti=as

3/28/20 First Time Camper Open House at Camp Ondessonk https://facebook.com/events/s/first-time-camper-open-house/2537306853030011/?ti=as

PRAIRIE DU ROCHER

3/14/20 5th Annual Heirloom Seed Swap hosted by Les Amis du Fort Chartres https://facebook.com/events/s/5th-annual-heirloom-seed-swap/1055695841446812/?ti=as

RED BUD

6/14/20 River Road Cruisers 36th annual Car Show https://facebook.com/events/s/river-road-cruisers-36th-annua/580745239354862/?ti=as

SALEM

5/8/20 May Market 2020 https://facebook.com/events/s/may-market-2020/487981358515764/?ti=as

Little Egypt Festival (1st Saturday in October) https://www.facebook.com/Little-Egypt-Festival-259946837352356/

TAMMS

December, Annual Light Up Tamms Parade https://facebook.com/events/2471088646284054/?ti=as

ULLIN

White Crane Canoe Rental & Guide Service Monthly Full Moon Tour https://www.whitecranecanoes.com/book-online

VANDALIA

December, Christmas Open House and Candlelight Tours at the Vandalia Statehouse State Historic Site https://facebook.com/events/927257600978069/?ti=as

WEST FRANKFORT

December, Candy Cane Lane https://www.facebook.com/candycanelanewestfrankfort/