Events

Although it would be impossible to list everything happening south of I-70, an effort is made to try to list some highlights. If you have an event or know of one to submit, please email it to: asliceofsouthernillinois@gmail.com or message our Facebook page. Thank you!

ALTON

Eagle Watching Shuttle Tours http://www.visitalton.com/pages/shuttle-tours/216

🎄December, annually Christmas Wonderland in Alton https://www.facebook.com/274980350323/posts/10165558901990324/

ALTO PASS

🍷Fall , Annually, Alto Vineyard’s Fall Festival & Fireworks https://facebook.com/events/s/fall-festival-fireworks-2021/1226422191151290/

/

ANNA

October Annual Prom of the Ages- Annual Adult Prom at Davies School Gymnasium https://www.facebook.com/358351959856/posts/10159285834374857/

BELLEVILLE

🍻Annual, fall Annual Oktoberfest https://bellevilleoktoberfest.com/

🎃October, annually Haunted Belleville Walking Tour by the St. Clair County Historical Society https://stcchs.org/events/

🎄Annual Santa Parade

🎄Annual Santa’s House http://www.bellevillesantahouse.com/

https://www.facebook.com/SantasHouseBelleville/

🎄11/26/21 Lighting of the Fountain, Caroling, and Opening of the December, annually, Christkndlmark Belleville Christkndlmarkt https://www.facebook.com/Chriskindlmarketcp/

🎄Annually in December Way of Lights Anniversary-A Family Tradition at National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows https://facebook.com/events/1020107164999845/?ti=as

BENTON

🎄December Annual Spirit of Christmas Light Parade https://facebook.events/s/2nd-annual-spirit-of-christmas/2661568920601158/?ti=as

BLUFORD

November Winter Barn Market 2021 at The Grainery (New location) https://facebook.com/events/s/winter-barn-market-2021-at-the/3032094367028148/

BONNIE

September National Alpaca Farm Days https://facebook.com/events/s/national-alpaca-farm-days/811705732880047/

CAMBRIA

October Fall Open House and Flea Market at Golden Goodies Resale https://facebook.com/events/s/fall-open-house-and-flea-marke/634625880841565/

CARBONDALE

🥬🧅🧀🥓Saturdays, December through March, inside University Mall, 10 am – 1pm Carbondale Community Farmer’s Market http://www.carbondalemarket.com/

https://www.facebook.com/communityfarmersmarket/

February Taste of Chocolate

February Annual Taste of Blackness hosted by New Zion Missionary Baptist Church https://facebook.com/events/s/25th-annual-taste-of-blackness/985522888501123/?ti=as

March Annual Celebrate Women Event at Morris Library, SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/24th-annual-celebrate-women-ev/988639771521276/?ti=as

🍉🌶🥬🥕Saturdays, April through November: Carbondale Farmer’s Market https://www.farmersmarketcarbondale.com/1st Saturday each December

🎄December SIU Holiday Craft Sale at The Student Center

🎄December, Carbondale Lights Fantastic Parade http://lightsfantasticparade.com/#activities

🎄12/4/21-12/24/21 Hometown Holiday Lights Show, Carbondale Park District

🎄12/5/21 Alternative Gift Fair at Carbondale Civic Center

🎄12/5/21 The New Arts Jazziest Does Cool & Yule at The Varsity Center

🌞🌖🌗🌘🌚🌞4/5/24 2024 Total Solar Eclipse at SIU Carbondale https://facebook.com/events/s/2024-total-solar-eclipse-at-si/734918499874299/?ti=aseclipse.siu.edu

CARMI

🌽October Carmi Kiwanis Corn Days- Head East Concert https://facebook.com/events/s/carmi-kiwanis-corn-days/534140291353808/

CARLYLE

🎄December Carlyle City Park Christmas Light Display https://fb.watch/9Fl_jStsEC/

🎆Annual Carlyle Lake Fireworks Spectacular-July https://www.facebook.com/136462603123810/posts/3670633403040028/

R https://fb.me/e/29pg1EPvD

CARTERVILLE

📖❓1/1/22 True Crime Book Club https://facebook.com/events/s/true-crime-book-club/1158060678265019/

🍉🥒🥦🍅Sundays, May through October, Carterville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/CannonParkCommunityMarket/

🎄Christmas in Carterville (Annually in December) 11/16/21 Mistletoe Market https://facebook.com/events/s/mistletoe-market/511084866637368/

https://www.facebook.com/Christmas-in-Carterville-317982874885302/

CENTRALIA

Decrember Downtown Centralia Christmas Stroll ’21 https://facebook.com/events/s/downtown-christmas-stroll-21/1043787886357903/

Annually in August: Centralia Balloon Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/centralia-balloon-fest-2020/739798669831734/?ti=as

https://facebook.com/events/s/drive-through-balloon-glows-at/696493427875553/?ti=as

🥣October, Annual Chili Cook-off at Centralia Fall Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/annual-chili-cookoff-at-centra/879524582925019/

CHESTER

DECEMBER Christmas on the River

CISNE

Annually in August, The Cisne Reunion https://www.facebook.com/CisneReunion/

COBDEN

December Cobden Christmas in the Village

🍑Annual Cobden Event, Lions Peach Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/the-cobden-lions-club-peach-fe/466605840691183/?ti=as

COLLINSVILLE

🇮🇹September, Annual Italian Fest https://italianfest.net/

COLP

Annual Colp Pride-Labor Day Event-September https://facebook.com/events/s/colp-pride-labor-day-event/828518177809851/

CREAL SPRINGS

October Annual Fall Gathering at Blues Junk & Primitives https://www.facebook.com/143501192392308/posts/4243921362350250/

CYPRESS

Periodically, events by Friends of the Cache River Watershed https://facebook.com/events/s/monarch-butterfly-what-a-journ/1097664633976339/

DUBOIS

October DuBois Center Fall Festival https://g.co/kgs/oCsRXu

EFFINGHAM

🎄December Wonderland in Lights https://facebook.com/events/576438539770870/?ti=as

ELDORADO

September, Annual Eldorado Town & Country Days https://www.eldoradotandcdays.com/

ELIZABETHTOWN

🎄12/4/21 Magical Christmas Tour at the Historic Rose Hotel

ENFIELD

Fall, Annual Enfield Mule Days https://www.facebook.com/Mule-Days-104205024308051/

FAIRFIELD

🎄Huber Family Christmas Light Display https://www.facebook.com/Huber-Family-Christmas-Light-Display-107116551220134/

September, Annual Fairfield’s Annual Fall Fun Fest https://www.facebook.com/Fairfields-Annual-Fall-Fun-Fest-1042435825769476/

GOLCONDA

🦐September Golconda Shrimp Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/golconda-shrimp-festival-sept-/264519875444374/

GOREVILLE

🎄12/4/21 Goreville Christmas Open House at Goreville Village Hall

May-October Goreville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/events/294036421288296/?ti=as

GRAFTON

🎄12/4/21 Santa’s Chocolate Express https://www.riversandroutes.com/events/santas-chocolate-express/?fbclid=IwAR1_ue7emW5YA_YE4WANTaefx2OJbuqI3Z9y1t9KY36ZEkrY6fO2pWOV5ZQ

Riverside Flea Market http://www.graftonloadingdock.com/flea-market

GREENVILLE

🎄11/26/21-12/31/22 Christmas Lights Wonderland at American Farm Heritage Museum http://www.americanfarmheritagemuseum.com/christmas-display.html

HARRISBURG

🎄12/9/21 Harrisburg Lights Parade

🎄12/12/21 Happy Holidays with the Humanities at Southwestern Illinois College

October Annual, Shawnee Sasquatch Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/shawnee-sasquatch-festival/4310818615650205/

October, Annual Heritage Festival 2021 at Southeastern Illinois College https://fb.me/e/1vkgHCcAn

HERRIN

🎄Reis Lane Christmas Light Display (North on Park Avenue/Route 148)

🎄11/24/21 on display through season Herrin’s Hometown Christmas https://www.facebook.com/herrinhometownchristmas/

🎄12/4/21 & 12/5/21 The Treasure Trail of Herrin Holiday Open Houses https://www.facebook.com/174357573215429/posts/901192277198618/

🇮🇹Annually, Memorial Day Weekend, HerrinFesta Italiana https://www.herrinfesta.com/

JOHNSTON CITY

12/4/21 Johnston City Chili Cook-off

Fall Junkfest & Craft Fair https://facebook.com/events/s/2021-fall-junkfest-craft-fair/781164032598246/

KINMUNDY

🎄Christmas in Kinmundy https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=190853589897126&id=100069174580601&sfnsn=mo

Kinmundy plans Christmas activities

Fall, Annually Kinmundy Log Cabin Village Fall Festival https://www.facebook.com/146249100495/posts/10158458667195496/

LEBANON

🎄11/19/21-12/31/21 Lebanon’s Winter Wonderland of Lights https://facebook.com/events/s/lww-christmas-in-the-park/1534052276954265/

MAKANDA

12/5/21 Best of Illinois Nature 2021 at Giant City State Park Visitor Center

🍄April, Annual Makanda Mushroom Festival https://www.facebook.com/MakandaMushroomFestival/

https://www.makandamushroomfestival.com/

https://www.facebook.com/MakandaMushroomFestival/

October, annually Makanda Vulture Fest https://www.facebook.com/MakandaBoardwalkEvents/

🎄December, Annual Christmas with the Alpacas at Rolling Oak Alpaca Ranch https://facebook.com/events/523824575043139/?ti=as

MARION

🎄Home Alone (Choate Family Christmas Display) at Kokopelli Lane https://www.facebook.com/366167596916903/posts/1984620971738216/?sfnsn=mo

🎄Yost Family Lights https://www.facebook.com/yostfamilylights/

🎄12/1/21-12/15/21 Very Merry Marion Decorating Contest http://www.verymerrymarion.com/lightscontest

🎄12/3/21-12/5/21 MAGPIE MARKET DAYS-Merry Little Christmas Village Vintage Market https://facebook.com/events/s/magpie-market-days-merry-littl/4390948867679212/

🎄12/6/21-12/12/21 Holiday Carriage Rides http://www.verymerrymarion.com

🎄12/6/21 Christmas in Killarney at the Marion Cultural and Civic Center

12/12/12 Christmas Changes Everything, musical at First Baptist Church https://www.facebook.com/184950858208454/posts/4574818602554969/?sfnsn=mo

🎄12/12/21 Newsong’s Very Merry Christmas Tour at the Marion Cultural and Civic Center http://www.marionccc.com

🎄12/13/21 Very Merry Christmas Spectacular by High Image Dance at the Marion Cultural and Civic Center http://www.marionccc.com

Fall, Opening Day and Vendor Day at The Patch https://facebook.com/events/s/opening-day-and-vendor-day-at-/933630163858287/

Fall Vintique Treasure Chest https://facebook.com/events/s/fall-vintique-treasure-fest/884076618886449/

Fall, Annual Family Fun Day for Herrin House of Hope https://facebook.com/events/s/10th-annual-family-fun-day/375307570875614/

🎃 October, annually Marion Pumpkin Glow & Stroll at Heartland Regional https://facebook.com/events/s/marion-pumpkin-glow-stroll-at-/589198478762536/

November Annual Southern Illinois Chili Cook-off https://facebook.com/events/s/12th-annual-southern-illinois-/1394142450952058/

MCLEANSBORO

Fall, Higginson Farms-Harvest Market https://facebook.com/events/s/higginson-farmsharvest-market/266718594830227/

METROPOLIS

🎄12/4/21 Metropolis Christmas Parade and Tree Lighting

October Annual Fort Massac Encampment https://www.metropolistourism.com/fortmassacencampment

MT. ERIE

October. Erie Fall Festival 5K https://runsignup.com/Race/IL/MountErie/MountErieFallFestival5K

MT. VERNON

🎄12/4/21 & 12/5/21 and 12/11/21 & 12/12/21 Christmas Model Train & Nativity Set Exhibit https://www.facebook.com/150933271600297/posts/5224117227615184/?sfnsn=mo

🎄Christmas in the Park at Veteran’s Memorial Park https://facebook.com/events/385127925734572/?ti=as

September, Annual Cedarhurst Art & Craft Fair https://facebook.com/events/s/cedarhurst-art-craft-fair/731107887703042/?ti=as

September. Vernon Fall Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/mt-vernon-fall-festival/222741739517824/

October Heritage Festival and Antique Tractor Show https://facebook.com/events/s/heritage-festival-and-antique-/1033033610856979/

MULKEYTOWN

/

September Annual Fall Craft and Vendor Fair https://facebook.com/events/s/9th-annual-fall-craft-vendor-f/4889920461023279/

MURPHYSBORO

🎄12/11/21 4th Annual Cookie Walk at Murphysboro Hometown Christmas https://facebook.com/events/s/4th-annual-cookie-walk/1139389293132254/

🎄12/11/21 The Grinch Drive-In Movie https://facebook.com/events/s/the-grinch-drive-in-movie/589325209040360/

🎄12/11/21 Deliciously Ordinary’s Mistletoe Bar Pop Up! https://facebook.com/events/s/deliciously-ordinary-mistletoe/434798368199542/

🎄12/11/21 Big Muddy Brewing’s Christkindlemarket https://www.facebook.com/72811983629/posts/10159606452713630/?sfnsn=mo

🎄12/18/21 Breakfast with Santa sponsored by Whimsey Photography https://facebook.com/events/s/breakfast-with-santa-sponsored/574130137008318/

🍎9/15/21-9/18/21 Annual September Event, 70th Annual Murphysboro Apple Festival https://murphysboroapplefestival.org/shop/

🍺October The Big Muddy Monster Brew Fest https://bmmbrewfest.com/

https://events.ontaptix.com/events/big-muddy-brewfest-10-2-2021

NASHVILLE

9/24/21-9/25/21 40th Annual Fall Festival https://www.facebook.com/296940877173527/posts/1816036028597330/

NEW HAVEN

9/17/21-9/18/21 “Hello Pumpkin” Fall Barn Market https://facebook.com/events/s/hello-pumpkin-fall-barn-market/174216667864051/

O’FALLON

🎄12/11/21 Vine Street Winter Market https://facebook.com/events/s/vine-street-winter-market/1488767784834079/

OKAWVILLE

9/17/21-9/19/21 Owkawville Wheat Festival https://www.okawvillewheatfestival.com/

OLNEY

🎄Olney Christmas Light Display https://www.facebook.com/1514176182157098/posts/3059651474276220/

🎄12/3/21 & 12/4/21, 12/10/21 & 12/11/21, 12/17/21 & 12/18/21 Santa at Olney City Park https://www.facebook.com/1514176182157098/posts/3062664710641563/

September Fall Festival of the Arts and Crafts https://festivalnet.com/25740/Olney-Illinois/Festivals/OAC-Fall-Festival-of-the-Arts-Crafts

ROYALTON

12/12/21 Santa pics, Horse wagon rides, & Gift Raffle at Community Building https://www.facebook.com/groups/279257925849659/permalink/1352082741900500/

SALEM

🎄12/3/21 Christmas in Our Hometown, a traditional and contemporary community music program https://southernillinoisnow.com/2021/11/29/christmas-in-our-hometown-set-for-this-weekend/

🎄⛄12/3/21-12/5/21 The Perfect Man Sale at The Rusty Nail https://www.facebook.com/209071005779777/posts/4848126128540885/

🎄12/3/21 Twilight Christmas at Country Creek Treasures https://fb.me/e/W5DoSCS5

🎄⛄12/12/21 The Frozen Experience https://facebook.com/events/s/the-frozen-experience/577006983392405/

🎉12/31/21 New Year’s Eve Skate at Idyllwood Entertainment Center https://facebook.com/events/s/new-years-eve-skate/887474091941444/

🍎September AppleFest 2021https://facebook.com/events/s/applefest-2021-salem-il-chambe/551963282843020/

Fall Salem Illinois Rotary Club’s Annual Rotary Peanut Sale and Second Annual Scarecrow Contest https://facebook.com/events/s/salem-illinois-rotary-clubs-ev/2002160819961924/

🥁Little Egypt Festival (1st Saturday in October) https://www.facebook.com/Little-Egypt-Festival-259946837352356/

10/24/21 Home & Business Expo 2021 https://facebook.com/events/s/home-business-expo-2021-greate/202911671664731/

🚜Annual Antique Power Days in September https://siantiquepowerdays.com/

🚘Annual Salem Super Cruise in September

ST. PETER

Annual St. Peter Prairie Days-August

TAMMS

🎄December, Annual Light Up Tamms Parade https://facebook.com/events/2471088646284054/?ti=as

THOMPSONVILLE

12/12/21 CHRISTmas Festival at Thompsonville Pavilion https://facebook.com/events/s/christmas-festival/3017432598513853/

ULLIN

🛶 White Crane Canoe Rental & Guide Service Monthly Full Moon Tour https://www.whitecranecanoes.com/book-online

VANDALIA

🎄 12/11/21, Christmas Open House and Candlelight Tours at the Vandalia Statehouse State Historic Site https://theshoppersweekly.com/lifestyle/vandalia-statehouse-candlelight-tours/

September 🍷🍺Wine & Ale w/Abe Streetfest https://fb.me/e/16BkuslaM

VIENNA

🎄12/5/21 Vienna Christmas on the Square

Fall Junque Jamboree https://facebook.com/events/s/junque-jamboree-fall-2021/364854728616972/

WAMAC

Annual Wamac Fall Festival https://seecentralia.com/events/wamac-fest/

WAYNE CITY

October Annual Wayne City Bean Days https://www.facebook.com/Wayne.City.Bean.Days/

WEST FRANKFORT

🎄 December, Candy Cane Lane https://www.facebook.com/candycanelanewestfrankfort/

🎄12/4/21 Holiday Craft and Vendor Fair at West Frankfort First Church of God