Events

Although it would be impossible to list everything happening south of I-70, an effort is made to try to list some highlights. If you have an even or know of one to submit, please email it to: asliceofsouthernillinois@gmail.com

Please note that the following annual events have been cancelled or postponed in 2020 due to COVID-19:

-Antique Power Days (Salem)

-Centralia Halloween Parade

-Golconda Shrimp Festival

-HerrinFesta Italiana

-Salem Little Egypt Festival

-The DuQuoin State Fair

-The Cobden Lions Club Peach Festival

-The Missouri Valley Conference (Saluki Football) may try a spring schedule

ALTON

Eagle Watching Shuttle Tours http://www.visitalton.com/pages/shuttle-tours/216

BELLEVILLE

Annually in December Way of Lights Anniversary-A Family Tradition at National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows https://facebook.com/events/1020107164999845/?ti=as

AVISTON

Party with a Purpose Summer Concert Series at Hidden Lake Winery:

6/27/20 Jimmy Charles

7/4/20 Three Pedros

7/11/20 Gypsy Soul

7/18/20 Black Top Blvd

7/25/20 Jeremiah Johnson

8/1/20 Shotgun Creek

9/5/20 Alexandra Kay

9/12/20 Adam Calvert Band

https://facebook.com/events/s/party-with-a-purpose-summer-co/232957411168366/?ti=cl

BENTON

December Annual Spirit of Christmas Light Parade https://facebook.events/s/2nd-annual-spirit-of-christmas/2661568920601158/?ti=as

CARBONDALE

February Annual Taste of Blackness hosted by New Zion Missionary Baptist Church https://facebook.com/events/s/25th-annual-taste-of-blackness/985522888501123/?ti=as

March Annual Celebrate Women Event at Morris Library, SIU-C https://facebook.com/events/s/24th-annual-celebrate-women-ev/988639771521276/?ti=as

4/5/24 2024 Total Solar Eclipse at SIU Carbondale https://facebook.com/events/s/2024-total-solar-eclipse-at-si/734918499874299/?ti=aseclipse.siu.edu

Saturdays, April through November: Carbondale Farmer’s Market https://www.farmersmarketcarbondale.com/1st Saturday each December

Carbondale Lights Fantastic Parade http://lightsfantasticparade.com/#activities

CARLYLE

8/14/20 Cruisin’the Dam Car Show https://facebook.com/events/s/cruisin-the-dam-car-show/434437174109860/?ti=as

CARTERVILLE

Sundays, May through October, Carterville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/CannonParkCommunityMarket/

Christmas in Carterville (1st Friday in December) https://www.facebook.com/Christmas-in-Carterville-317982874885302/

CENTRALIA

8/21/20-8/23/20 Centralia Balloon Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/centralia-balloon-fest-2020/739798669831734/?ti=as

CISNE

8/5/20-8/8/20 The Cisne Reunion https://www.facebook.com/CisneReunion/

8/8/20 The Brat Pack at The Cisne Reunion https://facebook.com/events/s/the-brat-pack/636654063644520/?ti=as

COBDEN

8/14/20-8/15/20 Cobden Lions Peach Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/the-cobden-lions-club-peach-fe/466605840691183/?ti=as

EFFINGHAM

December Wonderland in Lights https://facebook.com/events/576438539770870/?ti=as

GOREVILLE

May-October Goreville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/events/294036421288296/?ti=as

GRAFTON

Riverside Flea Market http://www.graftonloadingdock.com/flea-market

HARRISBURG

HERRIN

Annually, Memorial Day Weekend, HerrinFesta Italiana 2020 CANCELLED DUE TO COVID-19

MAKANDA

December, Annual Christmas with the Alpacas at Rolling Oak Alpaca Ranch https://facebook.com/events/523824575043139/?ti=as

1st Annual Makanda Mushroom Festival https://www.facebook.com/MakandaMushroomFestival/

MARION

MCLEANSBORO

MT. VERNON

8/8/20 August Market Days https://facebook.com/events/s/august-market-days/751126792065663/?ti=as

9/25/20-9/26/20 Fall Fest 2020 https://facebook.com/events/s/fall-fest-2020/2555968584528504/?ti=as

9/26/20 Crossroads Community Hospital Parade https://facebook.com/events/s/crossroads-community-hospital-/589373305190788/?ti=asDecember,

Christmas in the Park at Veteran’s Memorial Park https://facebook.com/events/385127925734572/?ti=as

MURPHYSBORO

SALEM

9/12/20 Salem Super Cruise https://www.southernillinoisnow.com/2020/07/31/salem-super-cruise-to-be-held-as-scheduled-september-12th/

Little Egypt Festival (1st Saturday in October) https://www.facebook.com/Little-Egypt-Festival-259946837352356/ 2020 CANCELLED DUE TO COVID-19

TAMMS

December, Annual Light Up Tamms Parade https://facebook.com/events/2471088646284054/?ti=as

ULLIN

White Crane Canoe Rental & Guide Service Monthly Full Moon Tour https://www.whitecranecanoes.com/book-online

VANDALIA

December, Christmas Open House and Candlelight Tours at the Vandalia Statehouse State Historic Site https://facebook.com/events/927257600978069/?ti=as

WALTONVILLE

WEST FRANKFORT

December, Candy Cane Lane https://www.facebook.com/candycanelanewestfrankfort/