Events

Although it would be impossible to list everything happening south of I-70, an effort is made to try to list some highlights. If you have an even or know of one to submit, please email it to: asliceofsouthernillinois@gmail.com

We cannot guarantee that all submissions will be published.

ALTO PASS

2/16/20 Valentine’s Day Dinner hosted by Hedman Vineyards https://facebook.com/events/s/valentines-day-dinner/457432535150833/?ti=as

ALTON

Eagle Watching Shuttle Tours http://www.visitalton.com/pages/shuttle-tours/216

ANNA

3/14/20 Cookie Decorating Class at Kiki’s Coffeehouse https://facebook.com/events/s/cookie-decorating-class/2705586049464623/?ti=as

3/14/20 St. Patty’s Day Festival hosted by King Neptune’s Cajun House https://facebook.com/events/s/st-pattys-day-festival/534168273854815/?ti=as

BELLEVILLE

Annually in December Way of Lights Anniversary-A Family Tradition at National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows https://facebook.com/events/1020107164999845/?ti=as

BENTON

December Annual Spirit of Christmas Light Parade https://facebook.events/s/2nd-annual-spirit-of-christmas/2661568920601158/?ti=as

CARBONDALE

2/14/20 Steak and Lobster Dinner It’s Back!!! hosted by Carbondale Elks Lodge 1243 https://facebook.com/events/s/steak-and-lobster-dinner-its-b/2993548554204391/?ti=as

2/15/20 SIU-C Cheer Clinic and Game Day Performance hosted by Ultimate Cheering https://facebook.com/events/s/siu-c-cheer-clinic-performance/2841847509376129/?ti=as

2/15/20 Glo Bingo hosted by Carbondale Eagles https://facebook.com/events/s/glo-bingo/552121098708082/?ti=as

2/16/20 Public Astronomy Observation hosted by Physics SIU https://facebook.com/events/s/public-astronomy-observation/2523885561226377/?ti=as

3/15/20 Mission Meal Cook for Homeless hosted by Saluki Rotaract https://facebook.com/events/s/mission-meal-cook-for-homeless/2758454360880695/?ti=as

5/16/20 Spring Craft & Vendor Fair hosted by The Landings at Reed Station Crossing https://facebook.com/events/s/craft-vendor-fair/611321396287634/?ti=as

4/5/24 2024 Total Solar Eclipse at SIU Carbondale https://facebook.com/events/s/2024-total-solar-eclipse-at-si/734918499874299/?ti=as

eclipse.siu.edu

Saturdays, April through November: Carbondale Farmer’s Market https://www.farmersmarketcarbondale.com/

1st Saturday each December Carbondale Lights Fantastic Parade http://lightsfantasticparade.com/#activities

CARLYLE

5/16/20 Kids to Parks Day https://facebook.com/events/s/kids-to-parks-day/613960419410783/?ti=as

6/27/20 Fireworks Spectacular at Carlyle Lake https://facebook.com/events/s/fireworks-spectacular-at-carly/2587894251438529/?ti=as

8/14/20 Cruisin’the Dam Car Show https://facebook.com/events/s/cruisin-the-dam-car-show/434437174109860/?ti=as

CARTERVILLE

3/21/20 Southern Illinois Wellness Expo https://www.facebook.com/427828507292679/posts/3480297705379062/?sfnsn=mo

4/9/20 Tri-C Elementary McTeacher’s Night-Carterville https://facebook.com/events/s/tri-c-elementary-mcteachers-ni/601312410437508/?ti=as

Sundays, May through October, Carterville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/CannonParkCommunityMarket/

Christmas in Carterville (1st Friday in December) https://www.facebook.com/Christmas-in-Carterville-317982874885302/

CENTRALIA

2/15/20-2/16/20 Greater Centralia Home, Garden, and Business Expo https://facebook.com/events/s/greater-centralia-home-garden-/534935207264636/?ti=as

8/21/20-8/23/20 Centralia Balloon Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/centralia-balloon-fest-2020/739798669831734/?ti=as

COBDEN

2/22/20 Paint, Wags n Wine at Starview Vineyards to benefit Union County Animal Control of Cobden https://facebook.com/events/s/paint-wags-n-wine/2488187487953429/?ti=as

8/14/20-8/15/20 Cobden Lions Peach Festival https://facebook.com/events/s/the-cobden-lions-club-peach-fe/466605840691183/?ti=as

CYPRESS

2/15/20 Hummingbirds of the World https://facebook.com/events/s/hummingbirds-of-the-world/554267448456604/?ti=as

3/12/20 Nature Movie: Manatees hosted by Friends of the Cache River Watershed https://facebook.com/events/s/nature-movie-manatees/2706230192771387/?ti=as

3/14/20 Butterflies and the Plants They Need https://facebook.com/events/s/butterflies-and-the-plants-the/440216349992967/?ti=as

6/13/20 Introduction to Orienteering hosted by Friends of the Cache River Watershed https://facebook.com/events/s/introduction-to-orienteering/474361486817809/?ti=as

DUQUOIN

2/21/20-2/22/20 Monsters of Destruction https://facebook.com/events/s/monsters-of-destruction-du-quo/419613872080260/?ti=as

6/26/20-6/28/20 General Tire Street Machine Nationals https://facebook.com/events/s/general-tire-street-machine-na/584196395745708/?ti=as

EFFINGHAM

December Wonderland in Lights https://facebook.com/events/576438539770870/?ti=as

FAIRVIEW HEIGHTS

3/21/20 2020 HIJHSAA State Finals at St. Clair Bowl https://facebook.com/events/s/2020-sijhsaa-state-finals/1315138005314046/?ti=as

GOREVILLE

May-October Goreville Farmer’s Market https://www.facebook.com/events/294036421288296/?ti=as

GRAFTON

Riverside Flea Market http://www.graftonloadingdock.com/flea-market

HERRIN

3/21/20 Springout Duo Dash: Unicorn Mardi Gras https://facebook.com/events/s/springout-duo-dash-unicorn-mar/999758777062101/?ti=as

MAKANDA

December, Annual Christmas with the Alpacas at Rolling Oak Alpaca Ranch https://facebook.com/events/523824575043139/?ti=as

2/22/20 Beginning Spinning Wheel Class https://facebook.com/events/s/beginning-spinning-wheel-class/2506474016262393/?ti=as

2/22/20-2/23/20 2020 Maple Syrup Festival and Pancake Breakfast https://facebook.com/events/s/2020-maple-syrup-festival-and-/1061113590890431/?ti=as

4/18/20-4/19/20 1st Annual Makanda Mushroom Festival https://www.facebook.com/MakandaMushroomFestival/

MARION

3/20/20-3/22/20 Magpie Market Days-Spring 2020 Vintage Market https://facebook.com/events/s/magpie-market-days-spring-2020/2388007051324832/?ti=as

MT. VERNON

2/14/20-2/16/20 Midwest Herb and Garden Show https://facebook.com/events/s/32nd-midwest-her-garden-show/1539945459492260/?ti=as

3/28/20-3/29/20 Exotic Pet Expo https://facebook.com/events/s/mt-vernon-illinois-exotic-pet-/572469980003045/?ti=as

6/14/20 Paw Fest https://facebook.com/events/s/pawfest/1498074846997777/?ti=as

8/8/20 August Market Days https://facebook.com/events/s/august-market-days/751126792065663/?ti=as

9/25/20-9/26/20 Fall Fest 2020 https://facebook.com/events/s/fall-fest-2020/2555968584528504/?ti=as

9/26/20 Crossroads Community Hospital Parade https://facebook.com/events/s/crossroads-community-hospital-/589373305190788/?ti=as

December, Christmas in the Park at Veteran’s Memorial Park https://facebook.com/events/385127925734572/?ti=as

MURPHYSBORO

2/8/20 Treats for Your Sweets benefitting the Women’s Center https://facebook.com/events/s/treats-for-your-sweets/600381060759226/?ti=as

RED BUD

6/14/20 River Road Cruisers 36th annual Car Show https://facebook.com/events/s/river-road-cruisers-36th-annua/580745239354862/?ti=as

SALEM

1/30/20-2/9/30 Two One Acts! at Salem Community Theatre and Cultural Center https://facebook.com/events/s/two-one-acts/2699849546762398/?ti=as

5/8/20 May Market 2020 https://facebook.com/events/s/may-market-2020/487981358515764/?ti=as

Little Egypt Festival (1st Saturday in October) https://www.facebook.com/Little-Egypt-Festival-259946837352356/

TAMMS

December, Annual Light Up Tamms Parade https://facebook.com/events/2471088646284054/?ti=as

ULLIN

White Crane Canoe Rental & Guide Service Monthly Full Moon Tour https://www.whitecranecanoes.com/book-online

2/22/20 Ullin Summer Ball League Sign-ups https://facebook.com/events/s/ullin-summer-league-ball-sign-/878877825874941/?ti=as

VANDALIA

December, Christmas Open House and Candlelight Tours at the Vandalia Statehouse State Historic Site https://facebook.com/events/927257600978069/?ti=as

WEST FRANKFORT

December, Candy Cane Lane https://www.facebook.com/candycanelanewestfrankfort/